FireWise Community

Slatemont first earned its FireWise designation from the Virginia Department of Forestry in 2011 and continues to be the only FireWise Community in Floyd county.

Slatemont Firewise Report

Meadows of Dan, Virginia 24120


· Transition from Tim Telling to Dan Stokes April 2019

· Spring wildfire fuel reduction April 27, 2019

· Firewise community grant requested and approved June 2019

Grant amount $4900

Grant period July 1, 2019 – June 30 2020

Grant funds used $0

· Firewise 2020 renewal application submitted November 5, 2019 and approved November 7, 2019

· Fall wildfire reduction cancelled

· Grant funds reimbursement request for $4900 submitted January 2020

Ongoing projects to keep improving Slatemont and reducing wildfire risk:

1. Fuel reduction in the 30’ – 100’ zones around our homes

2. Fuel reduction along roadways to maintain fire breaks

3. Establish additional water source for fire protection within the community

4. Continue to cutback vegetation along our rodes

5. Semi-annual Firewise Preparedness days to inform and remind members of the program and cleanup fire fuel along our roads

6. Verify that each home has a clearly identified street number at driveway entrance to assist emergency vehiclesyour paragraph here.